A reflection on Dominique Warluzel’s career as a lawyer

Dominique Warluzel, a young talent in criminal law

Although he dreamed of being an actor, Dominique Warluzel decided to go for a career in law, which he has achieved brilliantly.

Apprenticeship alongside Dominique Poncet

Having just obtained his law degree, Dominique Warluzel became the articled clerk and university assistant of the most prestigious of Geneva lawyers: Professor Dominique Poncet. An emblematic figure in Swiss law, lawyer, teacher and legal expert, he joined the bars of Geneva, Zurich, London and Washington D.C. He dealt with famous cases such as Trujillo, Bhutto and Duvalier and defended the former national adviser Dominique Ducret in the BCGE case.

Dominique Poncet, who died in 2016, was a role-model for Dominique Warluzel. “It might seem paradoxical, but I didn’t want to be a lawyer”, he explains, touching on his beginnings. The authority of his elders allowed him to get back onto the right road, however, and to accept the established order. While he was still only an articled clerk, the young lawyer pleaded in the Assizes eight times.

Law degree at the age of 23

When they were 18, Dominique Warluzel and his friend Christophe Lambert dreamed of being stage actors, an idea which was not greatly pleasing to their respective families, who decided to separate them. So, the two friends left their home area of Suisse Romande. Christophe Lambert went to Paris and Dominique Warluzel was sent to Nice, where he was advised to get on with some serious studying. He accepted this, on condition that he would be able to do it in Geneva. So, he chose the law. He registered at the University of Geneva, but first of all completed his military service as a tank grenadier.

He had been studying the dramatic arts at the Geneva Conservatoire with Professor Michel Cassagne, a well-known Swiss actor, from the age of 16.

He obtained his diploma at the end of 1980 and, at the age of 23, landed a place as an articled clerk with the distinguished lawyer Dominique Poncet, who would play an influential part in his career.

His first famous trials

Dominique Warluzel obtained his law degree in 1983. People began to talk about his talent as a speaker, as well as his knowledge of psychology. While still working in Dominique Poncet’s practice, the young lawyer was entrusted with the defence of Doctor Medeniça, who had been involved in a case of false hospital bills.

However, his career took a real turn when he defended the kidnapper of the daughter of Frédéric Dard, author of the Commissaire San-Antonio adventures. Joséphine, 13 years old at the time, was abducted in her sleep on 23 March 1983. The kidnapper, a camera operator from the Swiss television team which had come to do a report on the novelist, demanded a ransom of two million francs in exchange for her freedom. The sum was paid, the young girl was freed fifty hours later and the kidnapper was arrested. Although he was himself only 27 years old, Dominique Warluzel acted in his defence. Even though he had very little experience, his submission brought praise from the entire Press and the legal world. The day after his submission, the newspapers reported that “Maître Dominique Warluzel is one of the greatest lawyers in Suisse Romande”. The kidnapper was sentenced to 18 years’ imprisonment, almost the maximum sentence, but the young lawyer’s talent for persuasion had been recognised by the profession.  Dominique Warluzel obtained a pardon for the convicted man from the Grand Council of Geneva and the sentenced imposed for multiple offences was reduced to 11 years. This pardon was reached with the victim’s agreement.

He then pleaded in other momentous cases, such as the Nicolo case, the Russian princess, that of Lagonico in Lausanne and the Ferrari case where an automobile enthusiast was sued for selling copies of the mythical 250 GTO. His career and professional success had been launched, owed above all to his relentless work and talent.

{

You need to be a frequent visitor to the courts as early as possible, at an age where you still have the fire in your blood.

Founding the practice Bonnant Warluzel & Associates

5

1980-1991 marked the first period in Dominique Warluzel’s career when he occupied the post of articled clerk, colleague and then associate within the practice of Dominique Poncet. Although his career was in excellent shape, the year 1996 opened a new chapter in his life.

5

The lawyer set up a partnership with another personality from the Swiss legal world, Marc Bonnant. A former President of the Geneva Bar, he recognised Dominique Warluzel’s abilities and suggested starting a practice. So, the practice of Bonnant Warluzel & Associates was born. Marc Bonnant is well-known for his submissions as the civic party in cases involving George Ortiz, Frédéric Dard, Edmond Safra, Baron Philippe Lambert and Édouard Stern. He was also lawyer to the Empress of Iran and Souha Arafat. In defence, he is known for his work with the Moudjahidin against the State of Iran or with the ex-wife of the Russian oligarch Dmitri Rybolovlev during their divorce.

5

From the time of its creation, Bonnant Warluzel & Associates was an independent practice in Geneva with both local and international clientele. Today, it still has a large network of correspondents in the majority of jurisdictions. At the time, the duo did not pass unnoticed, as the two lawyers have quite contradictory personalities. On the one hand, Marc Bonnant, coming from high society and the defender of controversial leaders, and on the other, Dominique Warluzel, a creature of the media, coming to the aid of his clients through his plain-speaking.

5

Within the practice, Dominique Warluzel would in particular defend Carlo Lavizzari, who was acquitted of all charges held against him in the Banque Cantonale de Genève case. He would also plead in Lausanne in the Stéphane Lagonico case, a young lawyer from the Vaud region, kidnapped by another son of a wealthy family.

Dominique Warluzel, lawyer to the stars

 

Even though he was enjoying a brilliant career as a lawyer, Dominique Warluzel did not at all give up on his young boy’s dream: to enter the world of television and cinema. Although not setting foot on the red carpet himself, he would approach the art world through his profession.

In 1989, he became “lawyer to the stars” defending personalities from French cinema such as Isabelle Adjani, Christophe Lambert, Henri Verneuil, Mireille Darc, David Hallyday and Alain Delon. They all became friends, much more than clients. Over the years, he has acquired the knowledge to better support such artists.

He advises them regarding their intellectual property rights or on a Swiss tax regime which consists in calculating tax based solely on lifestyle. The aim of the regime is to use a fixed annual amount of tax as a basis, calculated on lifestyle and not on wealth or income, advice which allowed David Hallyday to set up home in Geneva years before his father moved to Gstaad. The Bonnant & Associates practice still welcomes stars from France who believe they are overtaxed.

In 2005, Dominique Warluzel was made a Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur. He received this distinction on 7 October 2005 from Jean Piat, an honorary member of the Comédie Française.

He can be seen here surrounded by his two friends Antony Delon and Christophe Lambert at the time of this presentation. He has also twice received the Media Prize from the Fédération Suisse des Avocats (FSA) in 1996 and 2010.

Dominique Warluzel has also advised other large fortunes in their departure for Switzerland, such as Prince Victor Emmanuel of Savoie. The lawyer defends himself from accusations from politicians regarding Switzerland’s status as a tax haven. For him, this is “a repetitive, worn-out socialist theme”.

Television presenter and producer

In addition to his knowledge of the world of the arts, Dominique Warluzel himself became a man of television, in parallel with his career as a lawyer. Being a man of the media, he draws attention both in court and in front of the TV camera.

Dominique Warluzel made his debuts as a television presenter in the Suisse Romande region with the programme “Profil de…”, dedicated to drawing a portrait of various personalities, such as his friend Christophe Lambert, Renaud and Alain Delon.

The aim of the programme was to place each guest in various emotional and funny situations from his past and present life.

It was a success and opened the door for him to other programmes in a legal vein:

Justice en marche” [Active Law] with Valérie Bierens de Hahn (24 episodes), “Vérité, vérités” [Truth and Realities] with Bernard Pichon (40 episodes), “Au-delà des grilles” [Beyond Bars] (8 episodes), “Duel” [Duel] (32 episodes) and “L’Étude” [The Practice] (8 episodes) with Béatrice Barton.

Even as a man of television, he did not distance himself from the legal world.

He created and hosted the “Dans mon Cinéma” [In my Cinema] programme broadcast by Radio Télévision Suisse, Orange Cinéma Géants in France and the RTBF in Belgium.

In around fifty minutes, it draws the portrait of an artist in his or her presence.

Personalities such as Alain Delon (2 episodes), Mireille Darc, Claudia Cardinale, Claude Brasseur, Pierre Arditi, Marthe Keller, Christophe Lambert, Nathalie Baye, Robert Hossein, Carole Bouquet, Gérard Jugnot, Anouk Aimée, Guy Marchand, Brigitte Fossey, Thierry Lhermitte, Michel Galabru, Michel Aumont, André Dussollier, Leslie Caron, Pascal Elbé, Tchéky Karyo, Karin Viard and Marie Gillain have taken part in a total 24 episodes.

Dominique Warluzel added another string to his bow, that of a dramatic author with the play “Fratricide”, the Geneva lawyer’s first play, performed 200 times.

{

In January 2013, Dominique Warluzel was struck down by a massive stroke which left him paralysed on one side and stood in the way of these various careers. Since this time, he has been working on his physical and neurological rehabilitation.

Dominique Warluzel, retour sur sa carrière d’avocat

Dominique Warluzel un jeune talent du droit pénal

Alors qu’il se rêvait acteur, Dominique Warluzel décide de se lancer dans une carrière dans le droit qu’il réussit avec brio.

Apprentissage aux côtés de Dominique Poncet

Sa licence de droit tout juste obtenue, Dominique Warluzel devient le stagiaire et l’assistant universitaire du plus prestigieux des avocats Genevois : le professeur Dominique Poncet. Figure emblématique du droit suisse. Avocat, professeur et juriste, il a rejoint le Barreau de Genève, de Zurich, de Londres et de Washington D.C. Il a traité des affaires célèbres telles que Trujillo, Bhutto et Duvalier et a défendu l’ancien conseiller national Dominique Ducret dans l’affaire de la BCGE.
Décédé en 2016, Dominique Poncet a été un modèle pour Dominique Warluzel. « Ça peut paraître paradoxal, mais je ne voulais pas être avocat », explique t-il en évoquant ses débuts. Pourtant, l’autorité de son aîné lui a permis de rentrer dans le droit chemin et d’accepter l’ordre établi. Alors qu’il n’est encore que stagiaire, le jeune avocat plaidera 8 fois aux Assises.

Licence de droit à 23 ans

A leurs 18 ans, Dominique Warluzel et son ami Christophe Lambert se rêvent acteurs de théâtre. Une idée qui ne plaît pas beaucoup à leurs familles respectives qui décident de les séparer. Les deux acolytes quittent alors leur Suisse romande. Christophe Lambert se rend à Paris et Dominique Warluzel est envoyé à Nice où il est prié de suivre des études sérieuses. Il accepte à condition de pouvoir les suivre à Genève. Ce sera donc le droit. Il s’inscrit à la Faculté de Genève, mais accompli d’abord son service militaire en qualité de grenadier de char.

Dès l’âge de 16 ans il avait suivi au conservatoire de Genève des cours d’art dramatiques du Professeur Michel Cassagne acteur de renom en Suisse.

Il obtient son diplôme fin 1980 et à l’âge de 23 ans décroche une place en tant que stagiaire auprès du prestigieux avocat Dominique Poncet. Une rencontre déterminante pour lui.

Les premiers procès célèbres

En 1983, Dominique Warluzel obtient son brevet d’avocat. Son talent d’orateur commence à faire parler de lui, tout comme ses connaissances en psychologie. Alors qu’il officie toujours au cabinet de Dominique Poncet, le jeune avocat se voit confier la défense du docteur Medeniça impliqué dans l’affaire des fausses factures de l’Hôpital.
Mais sa carrière va connaître un véritable tournant lorsqu’il défend le ravisseur de la fille de Frédéric Dard, auteur des aventures du commissaire San-Antonio. Le 23 mars 1983, Joséphine, âgée de 13 ans à l’époque, est enlevée pendant son sommeil. Le ravisseur, un cadreur d’une équipe de télévision suisse venu faire un reportage sur le romancier, demande une rançon de deux millions de francs en échange de sa liberté. La somme est versée, la jeune fille libérée cinquante heures plus tard et le ravisseur arrêté. Alors qu’il n’est âgé que de 27 ans, Dominique Warluzel assure sa défense. Même s’il n’a que très peu d’expérience, sa plaidoirie lui vaut les louanges de toute la Presse et du monde judiciaire. « Me Dominique Warluzel est un des grands avocats de Suisse romande », peut-on lire dans la presse le lendemain de sa plaidoirie. Le ravisseur écope de 18 ans de prison, la peine quasi maximale, mais ses talents de persuasion sont alors reconnus par la profession.  Dominique Warluzel obtiendra la grâce du condamné auprès du Grand-Conseil Genevois et la peine infligée pour de multiples infractions sera réduite à 11 ans. Cette grâce est intervenue avec l’accord de sa victime.
Il plaide ensuite pour d’autres affaires retentissantes telles que l’affaire Nicolo, la princesse russe, celle de Lagonico à Lausanne ou l’affaire Ferrari qui attaque un passionné d’automobile mettant en vente des copies de la mythique 250 GTO. Sa carrière est lancée tout comme sa réussite professionnelle qu’il doit surtout à son travail acharné et à son talent.
{
Il faut fréquenter les prétoires le plus tôt possible, à l’âge où le feu brûle encore dans le sang.

Dominique Warluzel :
un passionné de théatre 

5

Dominique Warluzel était avant tout un avocat qui voulait être acteur. Après une brillante carrière d’avocat et de présentateur de télévision,  il décide de se tourner vers le théâtre. En 2012, Dominique Warluzel concrétise son amour pour la scène avec la signature de sa première pièce de théâtre : FRATRICIDE.

5

FRATRICIDE raconte les retrouvailles de deux frères ennemis à l’issue des funérailles de leur père. Des retrouvailles qui donnent lieu à un face-à-face musclé entre les comédiens Jean-Pierre Kalfon et Pierre Santini dont on retrouve la complicité sur scène. Dans cette pièce débute alors un procès à huis clos autour d’un testament aux modalités surprenantes. Alors que les confessions du passé refont surface, les personnages jouent cartes sur table et les différences se font sentir. L’un est avocat quand l’autre mène une vie de rebelle. Tout semble opposer les deux frères pourtant rien ne semble réellement présager qui est le bon et le méchant. Leur confrontation chez le notaire après 17 ans de séparation donnera lieu à un mélange entre violence, rancœur, jalousie et nostalgie. 

5

La première  tournée de FRATRICIDE s’est tenue le 1er octobre 2013 au BFM à Genève. L’année suivante, en 2014, 24 représentations ont lieu au Théâtre la Luna dans le cadre du Festival d’Avignon 2014. Le calendrier des représentations ne désemplit pas et se poursuit au Théâtre de Poche-Montparnasse. FRATRICIDE restera à l’affiche jusqu’en mars 2015.  Au total, les comédiens auront joué plus de 200 fois.

5

Les spectateurs retiendront de FRATRICIDE des dialogues ciselés, une ambiance étouffante mais aussi la complémentarité d’un parfait duo de comédiens. Les critiques s’accordent pour reconnaître le talent de l’auteur Dominique Warluzel, de la scénariste Delphine de Malherbe ainsi que des comédiens Franck Borde, Jean-Pierre Kalfon, Bertrand Nadler et Pierre Santini.

Dominique Warluzel, l’avocat des stars

 

Même s’il mène une carrière brillante d’avocat, Dominique Warluzel ne renonce pas pour autant à son rêve de jeune garçon : intégrer le monde de la télévision et du cinéma. S’il ne foule pas les tapis rouges, c’est par son métier qu’il va approcher le monde artistique.

En 1989, il devient « l’avocat des stars » en défendant des personnalités françaises telles qu’Isabelle Adjani, Christophe Lambert, Henri Verneuil, Mireille Darc, Johnny Hallyday et son fils David ou encore Alain Delon. Plus que des clients, tous deviennent des amis. Au fil des années, il acquiert des connaissances pour mieux accompagner les artistes.

Il les conseille sur leurs droits de propriété intellectuelle ou sur un forfait fiscal Suisse qui consiste à calculer les impôts sur le train de vie uniquement. Le but du forfait consiste à se baser sur un montant annuel fixe d’impôts, calculé sur le train de vie et non sur la fortune ou les revenus. Des conseils qui ont permis à David Hallyday de s’installer à Genève des années avant son père à Gstaad.

En 2005, Dominique Warluzel se voit conférer le grade de chevalier de la Légion d’honneur. Cette distinction lui est remise le 7 octobre 2005 par Jean Piat, sociétaire honoraire de la Comédie-Française.

On le voit ici entouré par ses 2 amis, Antony Delon et Christophe Lambert, lors de cette remise. Il a également reçu le Prix média de la Fédération Suisse des Avocats (FSA) à deux reprises en 1996 et 2010.

Dominique Warluzel a également conseillé d’autres grosses fortunes dans leur départ pour la Suisse, comme le prince de Savoie Victor Emmanuel. L’avocat se défend des accusations des politiques sur le statut de paradis fiscal de la Suisse. Pour lui, il s’agit « d’un couplet socialiste récurrent et usé. »

Présentateur et producteur de télévision

Outre ses connaissances dans le monde artistique, Dominique Warluzel va lui-même devenir un homme de la télévision en parallèle de sa carrière d’avocat. Homme médiatique, il attire l’attention au tribunal comme derrière le petit écran.

Dominique Warluzel fait ses débuts de présentateur à la Télévision suisse romande lors de l’émission « Profil de… », consacrée au portait de diverses personnalités telles que son ami Christophe Lambert, Renaud ou Alain Delon.

Le but de l’émission ? Placer chaque invité dans diverses situations affectives et humoristiques de sa vie passée et présente.

Un succès qui lui ouvrira la porte à d’autres émissions sur le thème judiciaire :

« Justice en marche » avec Valérie Bierens de Hahn (24 émissions), « Vérité, vérités » avec Bernard Pichon (40 émissions), « Au-delà des grilles » (8 émissions), « Duel » (32 émissions) et « L’Étude » (8 émissions) avec Béatrice Barton.

Même en homme de la télévision, il ne s’éloigne pas du monde juridique.

Il crée et anime l’émission « Dans mon Cinéma », diffusée par la Radio Télévision Suisse, Orange Cinéma Géants en France et la RTBF en Belgique.

D’une cinquantaine de minutes, elle trace en sa présence le portrait d’un artiste.

Des personnalités telles que  Alain Delon (2 émissions), Mireille Darc, Claudia Cardinale, Claude Brasseur, Pierre Arditi, Marthe Keller, Christophe Lambert, Nathalie Baye, Robert Hossein, Carole Bouquet, Gérard Jugnot, Anouk Aimée, Guy Marchand, Brigitte Fossey, Thierry Lhermitte, Michel Galabru, Michel Aumont, André Dussollier, Leslie Caron, Pascal Elbé, Tchéky Karyo, Karin Viard, Marie Gillain y ont participé pour un total de 24 émissions.

Dominique Warluzel ajoute une autre corde à son arc, celle d’auteur dramatique avec la pièce
« Fratricide », la première pièce de l’avocat genevois qui sera jouée 200 fois.
{
En janvier 2013 Dominique Warluzel est foudroyé par un AVC massif qui le laisse hémiplégique et entrave la poursuite de ces différentes carrières. Il œuvre depuis à sa rééducation physique et neurologique.